ENG v IND 2021: BCCI secretary Jay Shah backs Indian team's request to send Suryakumar, Prithvi for Test series

Suryakumar Yadav and Prithvi Shaw to travel to England under UK's “Elite player exemption” rule.

Suryakumar Yadav and Prithvi Shaw set to play in England Tests | AFP

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah has backed the request of the Indian cricket team management as Suryakumar Yadav and Prithvi Shaw have been reportedly given the nod to fly out for England on Saturday (July 31) for the upcoming Test series.

Suryakumar and Prithvi had been added to the India squad after Shubman Gill, Washington Sundar, and Avesh Khan were ruled out of the upcoming five-match Test series against England, starting on August 4.

There were uncertainties around the date of both Suryakumar and Shaw’s departure to England from Sri Lanka for the Test series after they were found to be close contacts of Krunal Pandya who tested COVID-19 positive in Colombo. They have been in isolation since Tuesday, July 26 and both have reportedly returned negative for the virus, making way for them to travel to the UK.

They will be traveling to England under UK Government’s special “Elite player exemption” rule for sportspersons arriving from Red List countries, including Sri Lanka.

Read Also: ENG v IND 2021: Graeme Swann has his say on the mouthwatering Kohli v Anderson battle

Speaking to ANI, sources in the know of developments said on Saturday: “There were discussions if there needs to be a change in the plan after the duo had to be isolated as close contacts of Krunal Pandya. But with the reports coming in negative for COVID-19, the secretary felt it was best to back the request of the team management and send them to the UK.”

An ECB official told Cricbuzz: “The UK Government created Elite player exemption earlier this summer to help the Indian touring party travel in the first place. The same rule was used for other sports like football and tennis for the Euros and Wimbledon. And now that is being used for the two new players.”

Noteworthy, both Shaw and Yadav will be flown out on Saturday and will reportedly serve 10-day quarantine in England and won’t be available at least until the start of the second Test on August 12.

Here’s India's squad: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav.

Standby players: Prasidh Krishna, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

(With ANI/Cricbuzz Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 31 Jul, 2021

    Share Via