WI v SA 2021: West Indies announce 17-man provisional squad for South Africa Test series

The two-match Test series will get underway on June 10 in St. Lucia.

West Indies will play two Tests against South Africa at home | GettyCricket West Indies (CWI) on Friday (June 4) named a provisional 17-man squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against South Africa.

The series, which is a part of the current ICC World Test Championship cycle, will get underway on June 10 in St. Lucia and the squad is expected to be trimmed down to 13 members on June 7.

“Fast bowler Chemar Holder was unavailable due injury while 19-year-old fast bowler Jayden Seales is a first-time inclusion in the West Indies provisional squad for a Test Series.”

“The selectors have also revealed that four (4) other young fast bowlers Keon Harding, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley and Nial Smith will remain in St. Lucia to assist the Test squad with their preparations,” CWI said in an official release.

Apart from the two Tests, South Africa will also play five T20Is during their tour of the Caribbean.

While both Tests (June 10-June22) will be held in St. Lucia at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, the T20I series (June 26-July 3) will be played in Grenada at the National Cricket Stadium.

West Indies Test Squad:

Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-capt), Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Jomel Warrican


By Salman Anjum - 05 Jun, 2021

    Share Via