India-Australia Test series set to kickstart on December 17 in Adelaide: Report

The Adelaide Oval will host India's first overseas day-night Test match.

The two countries will renew rivalry for Border-Gavaskar Trophy | GettyThe opening Test of the upcoming Australian summer's Border-Gavaskar Trophy will begin on December 17 in Adelaide and be played as India's first-ever overseas D/N pink-ball affair in the format, says a report published by ESPNcricinfo

The report also states that the annual Boxing Day Test will remain at the MCG in Victoria despite months of speculations due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Read Also: Ajinkya Rahane feels Australia will be better prepared this time for 2020 Border-Gavaskar Trophy

As was being reported earlier, Cricket Australia (CA) seems to have accepted the request made by its Indian counterpart, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), to play New Year's Test in Sydney from January 7, instead of the traditional January 3. 

The final Test of the four-match rubber will be played in Brisbane from January 15. 

The Test series is the headlining aspect of a trip which starts with the Indians facing the Aussies in three ODIs in Brisbane on November 26, 28 and 30 and then taking them on in as many T20Is in Adelaide on December 4, 6 and 8, respectively. 

The entire Indian squad will fly across directly from UAE where the Indian Premier League (IPL) is being played till November 10 within bio-secure arrangements. 

It is understood that a 25-27 member party will tour down under and they'll be allowed to train while going through the necessary 14-day quarantine. 

(Inputs from PTI)


By Kashish Chadha - 07 Oct, 2020

    Share Via