Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj included in ICC ODI Men’s Team of the Year 2022

Babar Azam has been named captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year 2022.

Babar Azam | GettyThe International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday, January 24, 2023, unveiled its ICC ODI Team of the Year for 2022 and features two Indian players. Pakistan’s Babar Azam has been named captain of the side.

Batter Shreyas Iyer, who had an exceptional outing in ODIs in 2022 for India has been slotted at no.4 in the ICC ODI Team of the Year. Iyer played 17 games during the calendar year and scored 724 runs at an average of 55.69. He scored his runs at a brisk pace of 91.52, which included one century and six fifties. 

Thanks to his fantastic outing with the bat and prolific scoring against spin on home wickets, he has most likely confirmed his spot in the Indian squad for the 2023 World Cup.

The second Indian in the XI is pacer Mohammed Siraj, who emerged as the leader of the pace attack in the absence of Jasprit Bumrah. He has bowled with enthusiasm and skills and given India wickets in powerplay overs.

Delivering with both the new and old ball, Siraj played 15 matches and picked up 24 wickets. His wickets came at an economy of 4.62 and an average of 23.50, with best figures of 3/29. Like Iyer, Siraj has more or less reserved his place in the Indian squad for the ODI World Cup later this year in India.

ACC to hold board meeting on February 4, Asia Cup and India's participation in the event set to be discussed: PCB chief

Babar Azam of Pakistan has been named the captain of the side and it is an honor that he deserved given that he rules at the no.1 spot in the ICC ODI batting rankings.

In 9 matches in 2022, Babar registered eight scores of more than fifty, three of which he converted into hundreds. He finished the year with 679 runs at a stunning average of 84.87. 

Travis Head of Australia and Shai Hope of West Indies form the top of the batting order with Babar and Shreyas Iyer.

Tom Latham of New Zealand is named the wicketkeeper of the side, while Sikandar Raza also finds a place in the XI at the no.6 position. Raza aggregated 645 runs at an average of 49.61 and strike rate of 87.16, making two fifties to complement three centuries.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz had a dream outing against India in ODIs at home and overall in ODIs in 2022, he picked up 24 wickets in 15 matches and made 330 runs with one century and one fifty. Adam Zampa will partner with Miraz and Raza in the spin department.

Alzarri Joseph and Trent Boult will accompany Siraj in the pace unit. Joseph played 17 matches and scalped 27 wickets at an average of 25.70 and a strike rate of 33.4. Boult, on the other hand, played only six games in 2022, but scalped 18 wickets at a stunning average of 12.38 and a miserly economy of 3.98, with best figures of 4/38. 

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year:

Babar Azam (C-PAK), Travis Head (AUS), Shai Hope (WI), Shreyas Iyer (IND), Tom Latham (WK-NZ), Sikandar Raza (ZIM), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (BAN), Alzarri Joseph (WI), Mohammed Siraj (IND), Trent Boult (NZ), Adam Zampa (AUS).

(ICC inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 24 Jan, 2023

    Share Via