IPL 2021: IPL set to be played in 6 venues from April 9 to May 30 - Report

Indian Premier League has returned to India after being hosted by UAE last year.

IPL Trophy | Twitter

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 is set to be played from April 9 to May 30 across 6 venues in India. Cricket has resumed in the country and BCCI has already hosted Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 2021 trophy this year. 

As per reports of India Today, Ahmedabad, Chennai, Bengaluru, New Delhi, Kolkata and Mumbai will host the tournament. Last year, the cash-rich league was held in UAE across three venues: Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah.

There was uncertainty over Mumbai as one of the venues for the tournament because of rising COVID-19 cases in Maharashtra. But BCCI assured the support of the government to host IPL in Mumbai.

ALSO READ:  IPL 2021: MS Dhoni to take charge of CSK's first training camp from March 9

BCCI will create a secured bio-bubble across all six venues to make sure safety of the franchise members. Some of the franchises have already started practicing ahead of the tournament. 

The players are currently in their franchise's bio-bubble. They will undergo COVID-19 tests and mandatory quarantine before entering the bubble created for the tournament.

Mumbai Indians are currently the defending champion of the tournament. They had defeated Delhi Capitals in the final of IPL 2020 in Dubai.


By Sihyeu Singh - 06 Mar, 2021

    Share Via