The second T20I between India and Bangladesh was full of drama. In the sixth over of Bangladesh's innings, Yuzvendra Chahal got Liton Das stumped. But the replies showed Rishabh Pant made a mistake by collecting the ball in front of the wicket. Liton was called back and offered a free-hit as the ball was called no-ball by the third umpire.
Pant got another chance to stump in the thirteenth over. The bowler was the same, Chahal but batsman this time was Soumya Sarkar. He was stumped, and Pant made sure he does it in the right way this time.
On-field umpires wanted to have a confirmation from the third umpire. After replays, Anil Chaudhary was convinced Pant hadn't repeated the same mistake. But Anil himself committed a blunder as he pressed the wrong button while delivering his decision. The big screen showed not-out, which was immediately corrected.
However, Rohit Sharma, the stand-in skipper was furious. He even abused the umpire which was caught on camera.
Talking about the moment during the post-match presentation, Rohit said emotions got better of him. “I’m quite an emotional guy on the field. Some of the decisions in the previous and some of the on-field moments today, we were a bit sloppy. Ultimately the aim is to get the job done, and sometimes we display a lot of emotions. Next time I’ll check where the camera is (laughs).” he said.
Rohit also commented on the tactics during the game which worked in their favor. "We knew with the dew coming in; it will be slightly difficult for the bowlers. We had a good powerplay and just carried on from that start. I knew the conditions were perfect. All I wanted to do was stay still and tonk the ball. It’s been perfect so far and just wanted to finish it off on a good note. Looking forward to that,” he added.