Alyssa Healy named Australia captain as women's squad for India T20I tour announced by CA

Alyssa Healy will be Australia Women captain on India tour next month.

Alyssa Healy | Getty Images

Meg Lanning, the captain of the Australia Women's Cricket Team, is still unavailable for national duty, as she will miss the upcoming five-match Twenty20 International series against India.

Lanning’s unavailability forced changes in the leadership for the India tour, as Alyssa Healy was named the captain of the Australian women's team for the T20I series next month.

Cricket Australia on Tuesday (November 22) announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against India Women, starting on December 9 in Mumbai.

CA has also confirmed that Tahlia McGrath will serve as Healy's deputy on the India tour.

Australia will leave for India on December 4, while the five-match T20I series will be held from December 9 to 20 in Mumbai. The first two matches of the T20I series will be played at DY Patil Stadium, followed by three T20Is at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Read Also: AUS v ENG 2022: WATCH- Confusion reigns as umpire Wilson gives Smith out only after Buttler verbally says “howzat"

Meanwhile, Phoebe Litchfield and Kim Garth have found places in Australia’s 15-member squad, with all-rounder Heather Graham earning a call-up for the India tour.

Australia's head of performance of women's cricket and national selector, Shawn Flegler stated: “These five matches form an important part of the team's preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup in South Africa as well as providing an opportunity for some players to gain some experience in Indian conditions.”

Flegler added, “India will be a good test; they're a strong side and the two teams have had some good battles in recent times. Without Meg and Rachael, this series will provide opportunities for players particularly in the top order, so we're looking forward to seeing who puts their hand up.”

Australia Women's T20I Squad:

Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland.

(With PTI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 22 Nov, 2022

    Share Via