Lanka Premier League 2022 to get underway on July 31

The third edition of LPL will be played till August 21.

Jaffna Stallions defeated Galle Gladiators to win the inaugural LPL 2020 title | Twitter

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced on Friday (June 10) that the third edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) will begin on July 31.

The LPL 2022 will culminate on August 21 with five teams: Kandy Warriors, Dambulla Giants, Colombo Stars, Galle Gladiators, and Jaffna Kings competing for the title.

The tournament will take place in Colombo and Hambantota, with a total of 24 matches scheduled.

SLC formed the LPL in 2018, and the tournament's debut edition was held in 2020 after being postponed multiple times.

SEE ALSO: "I’d have him in at that five or six role"- Ricky Ponting backs Dinesh Karthik to be India's finisher in T20 WC

The most successful team in the league is the Jaffna Kings (Jaffna Stallions in 2020), who have won the first two editions of the competition by defeating Galle Gladiators in the finals.

”We are extremely happy to announce the 3rd edition of the Lanka Premier League, which has started well its journey toward carving a place in the global T20 League competitions, as a formidable tournament,” Mr. Shammi Silva, President, Sri Lanka Cricket said.

SLC also informed that foreign player registration for the player drafting will begin shortly. This year's edition will have 24 matches in total.

The tournament's exact itinerary is yet to be released, however, matches will begin in Colombo before moving to Hambantota.



By Abhishek Ghan - 11 Jun, 2022

    Share Via