ENG v SL 2021: Sri Lanka announce 24-man squad for England tour; Kusal Perera to lead the side

Sri Lanka will play a three-match ODI and as many T20I series against England.

Sri Lankan team will leave for UK on 9 June | GettyThe Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC), on Tuesday (June 8) announced the national squad for the upcoming limited-overs series that consists of three-ODIs and as many T20Is against England. The Minister of Youth and Sports, Namal Rajapaksa gave his approval for the chosen Sri Lanka squad.

The wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera will be leading the island nation in the UK. Even though the Kusal Perera-led side had suffered a 1-2 series defeat against Bangladesh in the three-match ODI series last month, the selectors kept faith in the 30-year-old for the role.

Earlier, there was a tussle between Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and the national players due to a contract issue between the two, with the players showing resistance towards the contracts, as they felt it lacked transparency and did not adequately compensate senior players.

Sri Lanka players to tour England without contracts amid pay dispute with SLC

This is the transparency the players had been requesting from the outset. They will play this tour without signing any contract. They have signed a voluntary declaration, but there is nothing there about player remuneration. They have always been committed to playing for Sri Lanka,ESPNcricinfo quoted the players' lawyer Nishan Premathiratne as saying.

The 24-member squad announced by SLC will be leaving for England on 9 June for the upcoming three-match T20I series slated to begin from June 23.

Sri Lanka squad for the series against England: Kusal Perera (c), Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Oshada Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama.

(With ANI Inputs)


By Swapnil Shireesh Javkhedkar - 08 Jun, 2021

    Share Via