Cricket Australias selection panel adds 6 players to preliminary squad for West Indies and Bangladesh tours

The inclusion of 6 new players takes the total squad strength to a massive 29.

Dan Christian and Cameron Green | GettyCricket Australia national selection panel has added six members to the preliminary list of players for the white-ball tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh.

The inclusion of Ben McDermott, Dan Christian, Cameron Green, Ashton Turner, Wes Agar and Nathan Ellis takes the total squad strength to 29, as 23 players were picked earlier in the squad announced last month.

McDermott and Christian are currently playing trades in the County Championship for Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire respectively. They will return to Australia from UK this week to complete the mandatory two-week quarantine period before the final squad leaves for the Caribbean in late June.

 Trevor Hohns, National Selector, said managing the health and wellbeing of players remains CA's top priority amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

"We are delighted to recall Ben, Dan, Cameron and Ashton and welcome Wes and Nathan onto the preliminary list of players for the scheduled Australian men's tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh," Hohns said in CA release.

"Ben is a proven match-winner and powerful striker of the ball, particularly in the T20 format, and we believe that, at 26, his best cricket is still ahead of him. Dan is in arguably career-best form and was a crucial member of the Sydney Sixers' BBL-winning squad this summer. His selection is testament to the hard work he has put in over many years.

"Cameron made his ODI debut last summer against India and the NSP believes he has tremendous potential in the white and red-ball formats, while Ashton has performed well across his 17 ODI and T20I matches for Australia dating back to 2017.

"Wes and Nathan, meanwhile, were among the leading wicket-takers during the summer's BBL and are viewed by the NSP as players who could make a genuine impact at international level. The six additions to the Australian men's squad follow discussions with players selected in the initial preliminary list for the tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh," said Hohns.

Australia will play five T20Is and three ODIs during the tour of West Indies from July 9 to July 24.

Australia's Preliminary Squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa


By Salman Anjum - 08 Jun, 2021

    Share Via