Aakash Chopra picks Eoin Morgan in place of Virat Kohli to captain his current best ODI XI

Aakash Chopra left out many amazing white-ball players out of his chosen XI.

Aakash Chopra picked Eoin Morgan as captain of his current best ODI XIFormer India opener Aakash Chopra has announced his current best ODI XI and to the shock of many, he has picked England’s World Cup 2019 winning captain Eoin Morgan to lead the side, instead of India’s Virat Kohli.

Chopra's list included four Indians, a solitary player from West Indies, Australia, and Bangladesh, two from New Zealand and England. However, no one from Sri Lanka, South Africa, or Afghanistan made the cut. 

Also missing from the XI were some big names like Kane Williamson, Jasprit Bumrah, David Warner, Steve Smith, and Jos Buttler amongst others.

‘Had to close social media after receiving abuses’ – Aakash Chopra on excluding Dhoni from his T20 WC squad

Rohit Sharma and Shai Hope were picked as the openers by Chopra, with Hope also keeping wickets in the ODI XI. Virat Kohli, Ross Taylor, and Eoin Morgan, who was picked as captain, were chosen as the pillars of the middle order by Aakash Chopra for his XI.

Shakib Al Hasan and Ben Stokes are the chosen all-rounders, while Kuldeep Yadav is the second spinner in the team besides Shakib. Mitchell Starc, Mohammad Shami, and Lockie Ferguson are the fast bowling ammo of Aakash Chopra’s best ODI XI currently.

Pakistan’s newest limited-overs captain Babar Azam was named the 12th man of the team.

Aakash Chopra’s current ODI XI:
Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope (WK), Virat Kohli, Ross Taylor, Eoin Morgan (Capt.), Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Lockie Ferguson, Babar Azam (12th man)


By Jatin Sharma - 02 Jun, 2020

    Share Via