IPL 2025: WATCH- Was Sunil Narine out hit-wicket in KKR v RCB match? Here is what ICC rules say

RCB defeated KKR by 7 wickets in IPL 2025 opener.

Sunil Narine | X

The IPL 2025 opener between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) on March 22 in Kolkata was an amazing spectacle. This was the first time KKR and RCB had met in the opening match of the IPL since the 2008 edition.

Despite a half-century by captain Ajinkya Rahane and 44 by Sunil Narine, KKR could only post 174/8 despite a good start. Krunal Pandya took 3 wickets for RCB and Josh Hazlewood took 2 wickets.

In response, Phil Salt’s 56 and Virat Kohli’s 59* paved the way for RCB’s win by 7 wickets in 16.2 overs.

One of the more bizarre incidents of Saturday's contest was KKR starter Sunil Narine accidentally smashing the stumps after a delivery while scoring 44 off 26 deliveries.

And despite his bat coming into touch with the stumps and dislodging the bails, followed by a faint appeal from RCB, the West Indian spin-bowling all-rounder was not adjudged Hit Wicket.

The event occurred during the eighth over of KKR's innings. Rasikh Dar Salam bowled a steep delivery that was deemed a wide, but the RCB fielders quickly noticed that the stumps at the striker's end were damaged.

Here is the video:

However, the umpires seemed unconcerned about the RCB's petition for a hit wicket. This was because according to MCC rules, Sunil Narine hitting his stumps was accidental and not intentional.

As per MCC Law 35.2, the striker is not out despite his bat coming into contact with the stumps if “it occurs after the striker has completed any action in receiving the delivery, other than those specified in 35.1.1.2 to 35.1.1.4”.

Following are the exceptions in Law 35.2 that pertain to the ‘Hit Wicket’ dismissal:

35.1.1.2: In setting off for the first run immediately after playing or playing at the ball.

35.1.1.3: If no attempt is made to play the ball, in setting off for the first run, providing that in the opinion of the umpire, this is immediately after the striker has had the opportunity of playing the ball.

35.1.1.4: In lawfully making a second or further stroke for the purpose of guarding his/her wicket within the provisions of Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck more than once).

Since Narine didn’t attempt to take a run, the ball was assumed dead as soon as it was collected by the wicketkeeper. Hence, Narine then hitting the stumps with his bat was not considered to be hit wicket.

 
 

By Jatin Sharma - 23 Mar, 2025

    Share Via