IPL 2021: Out or Not out? Cricket fraternity reacts to Rahul Tripathi's controversial catch of KL Rahul

The third umpire deemed that the catch wasn't taken cleanly and adjudged KL Rahul not out.

Rahul Tripathi's stunning attempt in the 19th over | BCCI/IPLPunjab Kings (PBKS) on Friday (October 1) registered a nervy five-wicket victory over Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to keep their IPL 2021 playoffs hopes alive.

While the match saw some fine performances from players of both sides, a controversial decision from the third umpire hogged all the limelight.

During the penultimate over of Punjab’s innings, Rahul Tripathi dived forward to take a fine catch of KL Rahul but the third umpire deemed that the catch wasn't taken cleanly and adjudged it not out.

See Also: Thought it was out in real-time, Eoin Morgan on Rahul Tripathi's controversial catch

The decision prompted outrage on social media as people in the cricket fraternity felt that the Knight Riders were hard done by the TV umpire Anil Dandekar.

Coming to the match, KKR posted a competitive total of 165/7 on the board after being asked to bat first. Opener Venkatesh Iyer was the top scorer with 49-ball 67 while Rahul Tripathi (34 off 26 balls) and Nitish Rana (31 off 18 balls) also made handy contributions with the bat.

For Punjab Kings, Arshdeep Singh (3-32), Ravi Bishnoi (2-22), and Mohammad Shami (1-23) starred with the ball.

In reply, Rahul played a gusty knock of 55-ball 67 while Sharukh Khan smashed 22* off 9 balls as PBKS chased the target with three balls to spare.


By Salman Anjum - 02 Oct, 2021

    Share Via