Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and Prithvi Shaw available to play semi-final for Mumbai

Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and Prithvi Shaw will boost Mumbai's chances in semis.

Yuzvendra Chahal and Rohit Sharma. (TOI Photo)

Mumbai has been bolstered with the inclusion of Rohit Sharma, teenage sensation Prithvi Shaw and seasoned batsman Ajinkya Rahane for the crucial semi-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19.

The trio have been named in the Mumbai squad for the crucial semi-final encounter against Hyderabad to be played at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on October 17 (Wednesday).

On Monday (October 15), Mumbai's chief selector Ajit Agarkar confirmed that Rohit, who last played in the Asia Cup 2018, along with Shaw and Rahane, who both are just released from national duty after featuring in the victorious Test squad against the West Indies, are available for the semi-final.

Mumbai thrashed Bihar by nine wickets in the quarter-finals to make it to the semi-finals of the tournament.

The trio missed most of the league phase of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 because of their commitment with the Indian cricket team.

Noteworthy, Shaw had featured in the initial part of the tournament for Mumbai before making a stunning Test debut against the Windies in the series, where the batting sensation won the Man of the Series award for his sensational show with the bat, amassing 237 runs.

Both Rahane and Shaw are in great form with the bat which will be added plus point for the formidable Mumbai side to stake their claim for the summit clash of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Mumbai Squad for the Semi-final:

Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (C), Prithvi Shaw, Rohit Sharma, Jay Gokul Bista, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Eknath Kerkar, Shivam Dubey, Akash Parkar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shams Mulani, Vijay Gohil, Tushar Deshpande, Royston Dias

(Input: PTI)



By Rashmi Nanda - 15 Oct, 2018

    Share Via