Asia Cup 2018: Pakistan announces 16-man squad for the tournament

Pakistan will play against India on September 19.

Pakistan's only ODI double centurion Fakhar Zaman will be a big attraction in the tournament | GettyThe Asia Cup 2018 will be the 14th edition of the tournament and will be hosted by the United Arab Emirates. The matches will be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai and Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The tournament will feature India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and one qualifier from the Asia Cup qualifiers currently underway. The 2018 edition has reverted back to the 50-over per side format and Team India are the defending champions.

The newest full member side of the Asia Cup, Afghanistan got the Test status in 2017 and recently played their very first Test match against India. They have been always challenging the best of the best in limited overs format and they will hope to do so in the upcoming Asia Cup 2018.

Pakistan named their 16 member squad for the tournament which will be led by Sarfraz Ahmed and will see the likes of Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Shan Masood and Haris Sohail to bolster the batting. The veteran Shoaib Malik was also included in the squad, but Mohammad Hafeez was ignored once again.

Hassan Ali, Junaid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Mohd Amir and Usman Shinwari will bolster the bowling attack with the help of all-rounders Fahim Ashraf and Mohammad Nawaz. Shadab Khan has been included, while Imad Wasim, the left arm spinner failed the yo-yo test and was left out of the squad.

Pakistan will open their account against the qualifier team on September 16 in the Asia Cup.

Pakistan 16 member squad for Asia Cup 2018:

Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain/WK,) Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Imam-ul- Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf, Hassan Ali, Junaid Khan, Usman Shinwari, Shaheen Afridi


By Jatin Sharma - 04 Sep, 2018

    Share Via