Indian Cricket fraternity lauds Mumbai as they defeat Vidarbha to win their 42nd Ranji Trophy title

Mumbai defeated Vidarbha by 169 runs in the final to win the Ranji Trophy 2024.

Mumbai defeated Vidarbha by 169 runs in the final to win the Ranji Trophy 2024 | BCCIMumbai team won the Ranji Trophy 2024 title defeating Vidarbha in the final of the tournament in Mumbai on March 14, 2024. This is Mumbai’s 42nd Ranji Trophy title win.

Mumbai also won the Ranji Trophy after an 8-year drought. The performance of bowlers was led by veteran Dhawal Kulkarni who was playing his farewell match. Mumbai’s victory was a fitting tribute to Kulkarni’s legacy of excellence in domestic cricket.

Mumbai's spin-bowling allrounder Tanush Kotian and fast bowler Tushar Deshpande were the architects of Vidarbha's demise, destroying their batting order and dismissing them for 368 in an incredible chase of 538.

Despite the gallant efforts of Vidarbha's captain Akshay Wadkar, who scored a century and rookie Harsh Dubey, who had confounded Mumbai's bowlers in a wicket-less morning session, owing to a 130-run sixth-wicket stand. Vidarbha needed 290 runs on the last day in their 538-run chase.

Ranji Trophy 2024: WATCH- Dhawal Kulkarni picks last Vidarbha wicket in his final match to make Mumbai champions

Wadkar was the first wicket to fall on day five as he plumbed in front of the wicket by Kotian. The 102-run knock of Wadkar kept Vidarbha in the contest but after he got out it was all Mumbai’s game.

However, Mumbai picked the remainder of the Vidarbha wickets easily as they were folded for 368 runs and lost the final by 169 runs.

Musheer Khan won the Player of the Match for his brilliant century, while Tanush Kotian won the Player of the Tournament for his 502 runs and 29 wickets in the Ranji Trophy season.

The Indian cricket fraternity lauded Mumbai’s brilliant performance and 42nd Ranji Trophy win on social media.

Here are the posts:




By Jatin Sharma - 14 Mar, 2024

    Share Via