The second ODI between Zimbabwe and Bangladesh on Sunday saw class batsman Brendan Taylor being given out in a bizarre fashion as he was adjudged out hit wicket after he mistakenly hit the stumps with his bat just as he finished practicing a shot.
The incident took place in the 25th over of Zimbabwe's innings when Taylor missed with an attempt to uppercut a delivery from Bangladesh pacer Shoriful Islam. After the ball had passed his bat, Taylor practiced the shot from the crease and swung his bat backward, dislodging one bail in the process.
The on-filed umpires consulted with the third umpire, who adjudged Taylor out hit wicket. Taylor had made 46 in 57 balls with 5 fours and 1 six.
However, the decision divided the experts and fans on the legality of the dismissal as fans on social media argued that Taylor should not have been given out as he was not playing a shot when he hit the stumps.
Zimbabwe managed 240/9 with Wessley Madhevere top-scoring with 56. Shoriful Islam picked 4/46 in his 10 overs.
Here is the video:
The "Not out Hit Wicket" clause 35.2 states: The striker is not out under this clause should his wicket be put down in any of the ways referred to in clause 35.1 if any of the following applies:
- it occurs after the striker has completed any action in receiving the delivery, other than in clauses 126.96.36.199 to 188.8.131.52.
- it occurs when the striker is in the act of running, other than setting off immediately for the first run.
- it occurs when the striker is trying to avoid being run out or stumped.
- it occurs when the striker is trying to avoid a throw-in at any time.
- the bowler after entering the delivery stride does not deliver the ball. In this case, either umpire shall immediately call
and signal Dead ball. See clause 20.4 (Umpire calling and signaling Dead ball).
- the delivery is a No ball