PM Modi urges eminent Indian cricketers to inspire the countrymen to vote in record numbers

The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19.

India captain Virat Kohli with Prime Minister Narendra Modi | Twitter

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday (March 10) announced the dates for the Lok Sabha election 2019. The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19.

Following the announcement of polling dates, India Prime Minister Narendra Modi is using his huge Twitter following to implore fellow citizens to vote.

In his latest tweet, PM Modi urged the eminent and current Indian cricketers namely MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma to influence and inspire the fellow countrymen to exercise their voting rights.

Taking to the micro-blogging site, PM Modi wrote: “Dear @msdhoni, @imVkohli and @ImRo45, You are always setting outstanding records on the cricketing field but this time, do inspire the 130 crore people of India to set a new record of high voter turnout in the upcoming elections. When this happens, democracy will be the winner!”

In an earlier tweet, the honourable Prime Minister tagged former Indian cricketers Anil Kumble, VVS Laxman and Virender Sehwag to do the same.

“Dear @anilkumble1074, @VVSLaxman281 and @virendersehwag - your heroic deeds on the cricket pitch have inspired millions. Come, it is time to inspire people once again, this time to vote in record numbers,” PM Modi tweeted.

Ina separate tweet, he had also requested the legendary Sachin Tendulkar along with singer Lata Mangeshkar and musician AR Rahman to inspire more citizens to cast their votes.

“When @mangeshkarlata Didi, @sachin_rt and @arrahman say something, the nation takes note! I humbly request these remarkable personalities to inspire more citizens to come out and vote in the 2019 elections. A vote is a great way to make the people’s voice heard,” PM Modi’s tweet read.

The votes will be counted on May 23 and the Lok Sabha election 2019 results will likely be declared on the same day.


By Salman Anjum - 13 Mar, 2019

    Share Via