SL v IND 2021: Suryakumar Yadav plays his first ball like he already has a 100, says Kaif

Suryakumar Yadav scored a 50 against Sri Lanka in the first T20I.

Suryakumar Yadav | GettyIndia beat Sri Lanka by 38 runs in the first T20I played on Sunday, 25 July, and went up 1-0 in the three-match series. India scored 164/5 in their 20 overs with the help of Suryakuamr Yadav’s half-century and skipper Shikhar Dhawan’s steady 46.

Suryakumar Yadav registered his second T20I half-century in only his third innings in the format. He reached the landmark of 33 balls on a slow wicket. 

Former Indian batsman Mohammad Kaif lauded Suryakumar for his composed batting. He said that the Mumbai batsman plays his first ball like he already has a 100 to his name. 

Read also: SL v IND 2021: Yuzvendra Chahal keen to perform at every given opportunity to secure T20 World Cup berth

"Surya Kumar Yadav these days plays his first ball like he already has a 100 to his name. No nerves, no doubts, in total control. Always great to see a domestic star do well internationally," Mohammad Kaif said on Twitter.

India had gotten off to a horrible start as debutant Prithvi Shaw registered a first-ball duck. Sanju Samson joined hands with Shikhar Dhawan to steady the Indian innings.

Samson got out after a good-looking 27. Suryakumar Yadav then scored all around the ground to which the Sri Lankan bowlers had no answers. Ishan Kishan then finished the innings with an unbeaten 20 of 14 balls.

In reply, Sri Lanka started well but lost track after the powerplay. Debutant Charith Asalanka looked threatening and scored a 26 ball 44 but found very little support at the other end. The hosts ended up being all out for 126, losing the last five wickets for 15 runs.  

The Indian bowlers led by Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s four-wicket haul and Yuzvendra Chahal’s economic spell defended the target with ease. The other debutant, Varun Chakravarthy, had a decent outing as he picked up a wicket the final over of his spell. 

The second T20I of the three-match series will be played on Tuesday, 27 July. 

(Inputs: Hindustan Times)


By - 26 Jul, 2021

    Share Via