IND V NZ 2021: Ian Smith unhappy with India resting Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma for NZ Tests

2-Test Series between India and New Zealand begins in Kanpur from 25th November.

Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson | Getty

Former New Zealand cricketer Ian Smith is unhappy with BCCI's decision to rest Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma for the Test series against the Black Caps. After the T20I series between India and New Zealand, which hosts won 3-0, the focus now shifts towards the two-Test series between teams. 

The first match will be played from 25th November in Kanpur while the second Test will be played in Mumbai from 3rd December. 

Ajinkya Rahane will lead Team India in the absence of Virat Kohli in the first Test, who will join the team for the second Test in Mumbai. The hosts have also rested senior opener Rohit Sharma for the Test series to manage his workload. 

However, the decision to rest Virat Kohli for the first match and Rohit Sharma for the whole Test series didn’t go well with former New Zealand wicketkeeper batter Ian Smith, who said it intrigues him to see players resting in the longest format of the game. 

“India have left out Kohli and Sharma, it intrigues me actually that we’re resting people in Test cricket these days, that disappoints me greatly," Ian Smith told

Read Also: BCCI treasurer clarifies on ‘Halal Meat’ controversy; says board doesn’t influence players' food choices

Ian Smith suggested that New Zealand should play three spinners and should have Neil Wagner in the side as he can bail the visitors out of the trouble with his stamina to bowl long spells.

“New Zealand should play three spinners in the Kanpur Test, given the nature of the sub-continental pitches. You’ve got to have (Neil) Wagner so when you get in trouble, he can try and bowl you out of it with his stamina," he said. 

Smith further named his New Zealand XI for the first Test against India at Kanpur. The former Black Caps player went with the combination of three spinners and two pacers in Kyle Jamieson and Neil Wagner. 

The three spinners in his side are Rachin Ravindra, William Somerville, and Ajaz Patel while Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, and Henry Nicholls are specialist batters in his side 

Here’s his New Zealand XI for the first Test: 

Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (WK), Rachin Ravindra, William Somerville, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, Neil Wagner

(IANS inputs) 


By Ankitjit Singh - 24 Nov, 2021

    Share Via