IND v AUS 2022: Punjab CM inaugurates stands named after Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh at PCA Stadium

PCA planning to name more stands after iconic players from Punjab.

Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh | PCA InstagramThe IS Bindra PCA International Stadium at Mohali hosted the first T20I between Australia and India on September 20, 2022, and the Punjab Cricket Association gave the fans a lot to cheer about apart from the Indian cricket team.

Before the start of the match, the PCA renamed its famous Terrace Block after former India spinner Harbhajan Singh and the North Pavilion of the stadium has been named after 2011 World Cup hero Yuvraj Singh. The inauguration was done by Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann.  

In a historic decision, the PCA executive committee, under president Gulzar Inder Chahal, has decided to name the Terrace Block and North Pavilion stands after legendary Indian cricketers Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh, respectively. Both have been icons for Punjab as well as Indian cricket and fans as well players will be inspired on seeing the stands being named after these two cricketers,” PCA secretary Dilsher Khanna told The Indian Express.

IND v AUS 2022: WATCH- Yuvraj Singh and Virat Kohli have a conversation ahead of 1st T20I in Mohali

Mohali’s international stadium was built in 1994 and is named after former PCA and BCCI official IS Bindra. The venue so far has hosted a total of 14 Test matches, 25 ODI matches, and five T20 matches.

Khanna also added that decision to name more stands after former cricketers from Punjab might be taken in the future with the PCA also likely to set criteria and invite applications from other states on renaming their stands.

Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh have been the most iconic players from Punjab. Apart from them, there are other famous players that Punjab has produced. The IS Bindra PCA Stadium has only a handful of stands as compared to other stadiums in India. So we primarily want to name the stands here after cricketers from the state,” added Khanna.

Catch the photos from the renaming ceremony here:


By Jatin Sharma - 20 Sep, 2022

    Share Via