Sri Lanka announce expanded Test squad for South Africa and England series

Sri Lanka will tour South Africa for two Tests while they will host England in as many games.

Angelo Mathews won’t be part of the South Africa tour | GettySri Lanka on Thursday (December 17) announced an outsized 22-man squad for their Test series in South Africa and at home to England.

Veteran all-rounder Angelo Mathews won’t be part of the South Africa tour due to injury while Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the side.

Sri Lanka will be hoping to repeat their remarkable victory in two Tests in South Africa last year when they became the only Asian side to win a series there.

Mathews’ absence because of a hamstring injury sustained in the Lanka Premier League is a big setback for the all-rounder, who is hoping to fit in time to face England.

The Sri Lankan squad is due to reach South Africa on Saturday (December 19), with the first Test in Pretoria starting on Boxing Day. The second will be in Johannesburg from January 3.

England will fly for Sri Lanka on January 2 and play both Tests at the Galle International Cricket Stadium behind closed doors. The first Test starts on January 14 while the second one will begin on January 22.

Sri Lanka Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews*, Oshada Fernando, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Embuldeniya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, Santhush Gunathilake, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka.

*Available for England series only

(Inputs from Reuters)


By Salman Anjum - 18 Dec, 2020

    Share Via