ICC unveils fixtures for Women's T20 World Cup 2023; India to begin campaign against Pakistan

The tournament will be played in South Africa from February 10 to February 26.

Indian women's cricket team | GettyThe International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday (October 3) unveiled the fixtures for the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup, as per which, India will open their campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan in Cape Town on February 12.

The Harmanpreet Kaur-led side has been slotted in Group 2 along with England, West Indies, Pakistan and qualifiers Ireland for the showpiece event, scheduled to be played from February 10 to February 26 in South Africa.

India’s second match will also be played in Cape Town against the West Indies on February 15 before they take on England and Ireland on February 18 and 20 in Gqeberha.

In the tournament opener, hosts South Africa will lock horns Sri Lanka. The final will be held in Cape Town on February 26.

Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha will host the marquee tournament with the knockout matches set to be played in Cape Town. The competition, featuring 10 teams, will see 23 matches being played across 17 days.

Bangladesh and Ireland complete the list of participating teams, joining Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies in the eighth edition of the Women’s T20 World Cup.

Defending champions Australia are placed in Group A alongside New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

In the group stage, each team will play the other four teams once. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.

(With PTI inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 04 Oct, 2022

    Share Via