WATCH: BCCI to launch Team India’s new jersey ahead of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

BCCI announced India’s 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 on September 12.

Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya | ScreengrabThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is all set to launch Team India’s new jersey ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, slated to be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

A day after announcing the squad for the marquee event, the BCCI gave the fans an opportunity to become a part of the team’s new jersey.

Taking to Instagram, the Indian cricket board uploaded a video, hinting that the new kit, to be donned by Rohit Sharma and company, will be unveiled soon.

The likes of Rohit, Shreyas Iyer, and Hardik Pandya featured in the video, urging the fans to visit the website of Team India’s official kit sponsor MPL and share their inputs.

See Also: Indian cricket fraternity reacts to Team India’s 15-member squad for upcoming T20 World Cup

“As fans, you make us the cricketer we are,” India skipper Rohit said in the video.

“The game is not the same without you guys cheering us on,” said Shreyas.

“Click on the link and be a part of the new Team India jersey,” said Hardik Pandya.

“The game is not really the same without you guys cheering us on! Show your fandom for the game by sharing your fan moments,” the caption of the post read.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee on Monday (September 12) announced India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, with pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel making a return after recovering from their respective injuries.

The squad, however, didn’t feature all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who recently underwent a knee surgery.

Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the other two specialist pacers in the squad, along with the all-rounders Hardik Pandya and Deepak Hooda. On the other hand, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Akshar Patel are the premier spinners in the line-up.

The batting line-up is along expected lines with skipper Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Dinesh Karthik all included.

The seam duo of Mohammad Shami and Deepak Chahar, middle order batter Shreyas Iyer, and leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi have been kept on standby.

India will begin their T20 World Cup 2022 campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan at Melbourne Cricket Ground on October 23.

India squad for T20 World Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Akshar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players: Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.


By Salman Anjum - 13 Sep, 2022

    Share Via