NZ v IND 2022: India wins series 1-0 after third and final T20I ends in a tie via DLS method due to rain

Mohammed Siraj was the Player of the Match and Suryakumar Yadav won Player of the Series.

Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips | GettyThe third and final T20I between New Zealand and India was played at McLean Park in Napier on November 22, 2022 with India having won the second T20I in Mount Maunganui and the first match in Wellington having been rained out.

Stand-in Kiwi captain Time Southee won the toss and chose to bat first. Mark Chapman came for Kane Williamson, while for India, Harshal Patel was included in the XI in place of Washington Sundar.  

New Zealand posted 160 on the board in 19.4 overs with Devon Conway with 59 and Glenn Phillips with 54 being the top scorers. For India, Mohammed Siraj picked 4/17, while Arshdeep Singh took 4/37 in their respective 4 overs.

NZ v IND 2022: "I admire Virat Kohli, love watching Suryakumar Yadav"- New Zealand's Finn Allen

Player of the Match, Mohammed Siraj picked his T20I best of 4/17 | GettyFacing a stiff target, India lost openers Rishabh Pant for 11 and Ishan Kishan for 10, while Shreyas Iyer’s short ball woes continued as he fell for a golden duck. Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya rebuild a bit from 21/3, taking India to 60 in 6.3 overs when Suryakumar was dismissed for 13 runs.

Hardik Pandya then hit some lusty blows as it began to drizzle to keep India at par with the DLS score. He made 30* in 18 balls as when rains came down, India was 75/4 in 9 overs, at par with the DLS score.

IPL 2023: Franchise officials to request BCCI to reschedule IPL 16 auction owing to Christmas- Report

Unfortunately, after the rains restarted as umpires were inspecting and the match was declared tied, resulting in India winning the three-match T20I series 1-0 thanks to their win in the second match in Mount Maunganui by 65 runs.

Mohammed Siraj was named the Player of the Match for his T20I career-best 4/17 and Suryakumar Yadav was named the Player of the Series.


NZ 160 (D CONWAY 59, G PHILLIPS 54; M SIRAJ 4/17) and IND 75/4 in 9 overs (H PANDYA 30*)

Match was tied via the DLS method; India wins the series 1-0.


By Jatin Sharma - 22 Nov, 2022

    Share Via