Jason Roy goes unsold at The Hundred Draft after pulling out of IPL 2024

Roy had pulled out of the IPL 2024 season, citing personal reasons.

Jason Roy | GettyEngland opener Jason Roy, who was part of the 2019 World Cup team, has gone unsold at The Hundred Draft ahead of the 2024 season.

Roy, who had a reserve price of £100,000, found no bidders at the draft on Wednesday (March 20) despite being one of England’s leading white-ball cricketers.

It was only last week that Roy had pulled out of the IPL 2024 season, citing personal reasons. He was supposed to represent Kolkata Knight Riders and the franchise replaced him with Phil Salt.

Notably, Jason Roy played for the Oval Invincibles in The Hundred and was released following a couple of quiet seasons. He scored just one half-century and bagged as many as three ducks last year.

Furthermore, Roy’s availability was not guaranteed for the entirety of the competition as he has signed a contract with Major League Cricket (MLC), which clashes with The Hundred.

Talking about The Hundred Draft, some of the big names of world cricket like David Warner, Kane Williamson and Babar Azam didn’t attract a bidder as well.

England speedster Mark Wood was also overlooked. England’s red-ball cricketers will miss the start of the tournament that gets underway from July 23 since it clashes with the third Test against West Indies.

West Indies cricketers dominated The Hundred Draft. Northern Superchargers coach Andrew Flintoff picked Nicholas Pooran as the first signing of the draft.

London Spirit roped in Andre Russell and Shimron Hetmyer, while Kieron Pollard and Rovman Powell have joined Southern Brave and Trent Rockets respectively.

Here’s squad of all teams after The Hundred Draft:

Birmingham Phoenix: Chris Woakes, Naseem Shah, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Ben Duckett, Benny Howell, Adam Milne, Jamie Smith, Will Smeed, Sean Abbott, Tom Helm, James Fuller, Dan Mousley, Jacob Bethell

London Spirit: Zak Crawley, Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer, Nathan Ellis, Dan Lawrence, Liam Dawson, Dan Worrall, Olly Stone, Adam Rossington, Richard Gleeson, Ollie Pope, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Matthew Critchley, Michael Pepper

Manchester Originals: Jos Buttler, Jamie Overton, Phil Salt, Sikandar Raza, Paul Walter, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Tom Hartley, Usama Mir, Wayne Madsen, Josh Tongue, Max Holden, Josh Hull, Fred Klaassen, Mitchell Stanley

Northern Superchargers: Ben Stokes, Nicholas Pooran, Adil Rashid, Harry Brook, Reece Topley, Daniel Sams, Matthew Short, Brydon Carse, Adam Hose, Tom Lawes, Matthew Potts, Graham Clark, Callum Parkinson, Ollie Robinson

Oval Invincibles: Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Will Jacks, Adam Zampa, Jordan Cox, Gus Atkinson, Sam Billings, Saqib Mahmood, Spencer Johnson, Dawid Malan, Nathan Sowter, Donovan Ferreira, Tom Lammonby, Tawanda Muyeye

Southern Brave: Jofra Archer, Kieron Pollard, James Vince, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Laurie Evans, Leus du Plooy, Akeal Hosein, Rehan Ahmed, Craig Overton, Finn Allen, Danny Briggs, George Garton, Alex Davies

Trent Rockets: Joe Root, Rovman Powell, Rashid Khan, Imad Wasim, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Luke Wood, Tom Banton, John Turner, Sam Hain, Sam Cook, Calvin Harrison, Jordan Thompson, Adam Lyth

Welsh Fire: Jonny Bairstow, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, David Willey, Shaheen Afridi, Joe Clarke, Haris Rauf, Tom Abell, Glenn Phillips, David Payne, Luke Wells, Roelof van der Merwe, Jake Ball, Stevie Eskinazi, Chris Cooke


By Salman Anjum - 21 Mar, 2024

    Share Via