New Zealand names replacements for Matt Henry and Tim Southee for Pakistan and India ODI series

New Zealand is set to visit India later this month for a limited-overs series.

Doug Bracewell | Getty Images

Doug Bracewell has been named in New Zealand’s ODI squad as a replacement for the injured Matt Henry for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Pakistan and India. New Zealand Cricket also named Jacob Duffy as a replacement for Tim Southee for the India tour.

Henry was ruled out of the ODI series in Pakistan and India after suffering an abdominal strain on the final day of the second test in Karachi and will now require 2-4 weeks of rest and rehabilitation.

Bracewell, who has played 68 international matches, was added to the New Zealand squad on the back of his good performance with bat and ball in domestic cricket. He will reach Pakistan on Wednesday (January 11), as he will miss the first ODI to be played on Monday (January 9) in Karachi.

Read Also: PAK v NZ 2022-23: WATCH- “Any questions about this white ball series, ask about that”- Babar’s terse reply on Test captaincy query

After the completion of the ODI series in Pakistan, New Zealand will then travel to India for six white-ball matches on January 13, with the tour getting underway with the first ODI at Hyderabad on January 18.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said in an NZC release: “Doug is a quality bowler with a lot of experience and we feel his skills best complement the bowling mix we already have in the squads for Pakistan and India. He has experience across all three formats at the international level, has experience in the subcontinent, and has already shown his range of skills this season.”

On Henry, Stead said: “Matt has been one of the leaders of our ODI attack for a number of years and I know he’s disappointed to be missing out because of injury. With important home series coming up, it’s vital he has time to recover properly over the coming weeks.”

New Zealand’s updated squad for the India tour:

Tom Latham (Captain), Finn Allen, Doug Bracewell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, and Blair Tickner.

(With PTI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 09 Jan, 2023

    Share Via