Sam Curran returns as England name 14-member squad for Netherlands ODIs

The all-rounder hasn't played international cricket since August 2021.

Sam Curran | GettyThe England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) picked a 14-man ODI squad to face the Netherlands in a three-match series, starting June 17 at Amstelveen. Pacer Luke Wood bagged his maiden call-up. The England men's team will play the Netherlands in an ODI series for the first time.

SEE ALSO: We've a very strong leader in Ben Stokes- England coach Brendon McCullum; talks about his coaching method

David Payne, the pacer who was named for the Pakistan ODIs last summer but didn’t get an opportunity to play, was also included in the team. Sam Curran also returns to the white-ball set-up after a six-month layoff due to a stress fracture in his back. Brydon Carse and Phil Salt, who both made their ODI debut against Pakistan last summer, have been recalled.

"I'm very excited to be coaching a strong squad for my first series in charge," England's white-ball head coach, Matthew Mott, said on Tuesday (May 31). 

"We have tremendous depth with a blend of youth and experience. We want to continue to play in an expressive style and let our players showcase their skills and firepower. 

"Luke Wood deserves his call-up. He has been consistent for Lancashire over the past 12 months and we have been monitoring his progression. If given a chance to play, I'm sure he will make most of his opportunity," he added.

Jason Roy, who missed the IPL to spend time with his family, and Jos Butler, the IPL 2022 Player of the Tournament, will both return to action. Moeen Ali, David Willey, and Liam Livingstone will also return following their IPL outings.

"This is a historic occasion for the sport and the first time England Men have played The Netherlands in an ODI series. We can't wait to head over to Amsterdam and put on a show for the thousands of fans traveling to support the team," Mott said.

"The ODI side has had limited opportunities and last played in July. However, with about 18 months to the next ICC 50 over World Cup in India, our preparation will start ramping up with nine matches over the summer and a busy winter ahead against strong opponents," he stated.

The three one-day internationals will be held on June 17, 19, and 22.

Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, David Payne, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey, Luke Wood.




By Abhishek Ghan - 01 Jun, 2022

    Share Via