BAN v AFG 2022: Shakib-Al-Hasan's sportsmanship gesture lauded after Bangladesh takes back appeal

The incident happened during the second ODI between Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

Shakib-Al-Hasan | Twitter

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib-Al-Hasan showed a spirit of cricket gesture during the second ODI against Afghanistan. He made the on-field umpire reverse the third umpire's call after a run-out decision.

The incident happened in the 17th over of the second innings when Afghanistan were chasing the target of 307. The visitors were three down on 84 runs and they were about to lose Najibullah Zadran as well.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: Shakib Al Hasan's wife clarifies why Bangladesh all-rounder went unsold at the mega-auction

Afghanistan batter Rahmat Shah hit the ball down the ground and the ball went through Shakib to hit the stumps. Zadran was way out of his crease and the third umpire only had to ensure the ball had made contact with Shakib.

After replays, the TV umpire was convinced that the ball had brushed past Shakib’s finger and Zadran was given out. However, the Bangladesh veteran cricketer decided to take the appeal back and informed the umpire that his fingers didn’t touch the ball. 

Shakib was praised for his sportsmanship and eventually, even Bangladesh won the match by 88 runs to take an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.



By - 26 Feb, 2022

    Share Via