BCB ready to join forces with PCB and SLC to jointly host upcoming ICC events

Bangladesh wants to solely host the 2025 Champions Trophy.

BCB wants to solely host the 2025 Champions Trophy | AFP

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) is ready to have a partnership of sorts with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) to bid jointly for hosting two ICC World Cups – 2027 and 2031 World Cups – in the upcoming 2024-31 cycle of ICC events.

The BCB has already expressed its desire to solely host the 2025 Champions Trophy on its own considering the fact that Bangladesh has the necessary infrastructure available to host the event. The board will also reportedly sit with PCB and SLC to discuss co-hosting some ICC events.

With the BCB deciding to participate in the host selection process for the ICC events for the 2024-2031 cycle, the board formed a management team headed by the BCB CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury, including the board directors Jalal and Ahmed Sajjadul Alam to oversee the procedure and advance the process.

Read Also: PCB planning to form consortium with SLC and BCB to host upcoming World Cups: Report

As the PCB proposed to host the 2027 and 2031 World Cups jointly with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, Mr. Jalaj has admitted the fact that the BCB will have to join hands with the SLC and Pakistan board if they wish to host the big ICC events, as India will bid to host the events solely.

Jalal told Cricbuzz: “We have already stated that we want to host the ICC Champions Trophy while we are ready to co-host other events with our neighboring countries.”

He added, “India is likely to bid to host events solely because they are capable as they have the infrastructure in place, and in that case if we have to co-host we will have to do it with PCB and SLC.”

Noteworthy, the ICC has recently confirmed that 17 cricket boards have expressed interest to stage events from 2024 to 2031 and they are from Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Malaysia, Namibia, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, UAE, USA and Zimbabwe with the deadline for placing the bids was June 30.

(With Cricbuzz Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 13 Jul, 2021

    Share Via