Remainder of PSL 2021 might be played without overseas cricketers

The Pakistan Super League was postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak in March 2021.

PSL 2021 to resume on June 1 | AFP

The 6th edition of the Pakistan Super League’s (PSL 2021) remaining games in Pakistan might be played without the overseas stars in June 2021 due to their other commitments.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had to postpone the PSL 2021 unexpectedly on March 4 in Karachi with just 10 out of 34 matches completed due to the COVID-19 outbreak among the players and officials.

Recently, the PCB has released the schedule of the remaining PSL 2021 matches, resuming on June 1, but all the six franchises are concerned about the availability of their foreign players, as they will have national and other commitments when the T20 league will resume, leaving the franchises with the only option of signing new players.

Read Also: PSL 2021 to resume on June 1; final to be played on June 20th

It is being said that the franchises have asked the PCB to call a meeting of the PSL governing council considering the possible unavailability of the several PSL 2021 contracted overseas players on the resumption with the PSL clashing with England’s Vitality T20 Blast and other international series for Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and West Indies in June.

A franchise official said: “The problem now is that many players from England had signed up for PSL 2021 but with the Vitality, blast starting from June 9 and also keeping in mind the international commitments of the England and other teams in June franchises are in trouble.”

Notably, the overseas players are Chris Gayle, Rashid Khan, David Miller, Saf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Alex Hales, Chris Lynn, Dale Stein, Tom Banton, Chris Jordon, Muhammad Nabi, Mujeeb ur Rehman, Liam Livingstone, Rilee Rossouw, James Vince, Ben Cutting, Joe Denly, Joe Clarke, Samit Patel, Ravi Bopara Sajid Mahmood, Adam Lyth, Reece Topley, Lewis Gregory, Colin Ingram, David Wiese, Porterfield, Cameron Delport, Carlos Braithwaite, Chadwick Walton, Sherfane Rutherford, Ben Dunk, Daniel Christian who were all signed for the PSL 2021.

(With PTI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 21 Apr, 2021

    Share Via