Kevin Pietersen named captain of England Legends in Road Safety World Series 2021

Khaled Mahmud will lead the Bangladesh Legends in the upcoming T20 tournament in Raipur.

Monty Panesar and Kevin Pietersen will play in the world series | Getty Images

Former England cricketer-turned-commentator Kevin Pietersen has been named England Legends captain for the upcoming Road Safety World Series, starting from March 5 at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur.

England’s cricketing stars like Matthew Hoggard, Owais Shah, Monty Panesar, and Nick Crompton are among the key members of the England Legends squad for the upcoming Road Safety World Series.

While Khaled Mahmud will captain the Bangladesh Legends in the Unacademy Road Safety World Series with Nafees Iqbal, Abdul Razzak, and Mohd Rafique named in the Bangladesh squad for the event.

Meanwhile, the England Legends team will arrive in Raipur from London via Delhi on Friday (February 26), while the Bangladesh team will reach Raipur from Dhaka via Kolkata on Saturday (February 27).

Read Also: Road Safety World Series 2021 schedule revealed; first match on March 5 between India-Bangladesh

Indian Legends will take on Bangladesh Legends in the tournament opener on March 5 at the newly-built 65,000 capacity stadium in Raipur – the venue will host all matches of the series with a 50 percent crowd in attendance as per the SOP issued by the Central Government.

Noteworthy, the Road Safety World Series is an initiative by the Road Safety Cell of Maharashtra in association with the Professional Management Group (PMG) spearheaded by Sunil Gavaskar as the Commissioner of the Series. Indian cricket great Sachin Tendulkar is the brand ambassador of the series.

Education technology platform Unacademy is the title sponsor and Viacom18 is the broadcast partner of the Road Safety World Series. The first edition of the series had to be called off after four games on March 11 last year due to the Covid-19 situation worldwide.

Here are squads:

England Legends:

Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Philip Mustard, Monty Panesar, Nick Crompton, Kabir Al, Sajid Mahmood, James Tredwell, Chris Schofield, Jonathan Trott, Ryan Sidebottom, Usman Afzaal, Matthew Hoggard, James Tindall.

Bangladesh Legends:

Khaled Mahmud, Nafees Iqbal, Mohd Rafique, Abdur Razzaq, Khalid Mashud, Hanan Sarkar, Javed Omar, Rajin Saleh, Mehrab Hossain, Aftab Ahmed, Alamgir Kabir. MD Sharif ,Mushfiqur Rahman, Mamoon Rashid.

(With PTI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 26 Feb, 2021

    Share Via