Afghanistan names 16-man squad for ODI series against Ireland

The three-match ODI series is scheduled to begin on 18 January 2021.

Afghanistan cricket team | Getty

The Afghanistan cricket team is all set to play a three-match ODI series against Ireland later this month. The Asian team has revealed a 16-man squad for the same on Saturday, January 3, including stars like Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

The bilateral series which was originally scheduled to be hosted by Abu Dhabi has been moved to Oman due to visa issues. The Ireland cricket team has already named a 16-man squad last month and the contingent is already practicing in the UAE whereas the Afghanistan team is yet to travel.

Ireland announce 16-man squad for ODI series against UAE and Afghanistan

The entire ODI series will be played at the Al Amerat Cricket Ground (Ministry Turf 1) in Al Amerat. The three games will be played on 18, 21, and 23 January 2021.

Global Afghan stars like Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman, who are currently playing in the Big Bash League in Australia, will have to leave the tournament and join the Afghan side before the series starts.

The rest of the players back home are lacking enough substantial practice due to the extreme cold in Afghanistan.

ACB's director of cricket, Raees Ahmadzai, told Cricbuzz, "We could not have a good preparation for the last few days because the weather is not good in Afghanistan as here it is very cold. We tried our best to select the best available squad. The side is very balanced as we included some youngsters along with the seniors."

Here are the 16 players selected for the Ireland ODI series:

Asghar Afghan, Rahmat Shah, Nawin-Ul-Haq, Hashmat Shahidi, Yamin Ahmadzai, Osman Ghani, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rahmanullah Gurboz, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Najib Zadran, Jawed Ahmadi, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbuddin Naib, Mujib Rahman and Sharafuddin Ashraf.

(With inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Sameer Deodhar - 03 Jan, 2021

    Share Via