Aakash Chopra names his India’s Test and T20I XIs to play on the same day

Many teams are mulling playing two simultaneous matches on the same day to compensate for COVID 19 loss.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli were put in Test team by Akash ChopraFormer India opener Aakash Chopra has come up with his India Test and T20I elevens that may be used to play on the same day.

This came after many teams including current ODI world champions England mulled playing two separate teams on the same day in order to keep up with the loss done by the coronavirus pandemic to the game.

WATCH: Rohit Sharma shares a hilarious incident when Shikhar Dhawan left everyone on the field in splits

Chopra named Rohit Sharma, the joint-world record holder for the fastest T20I hundred and man with four centuries in the format, as the opener for his Test team. Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli, the captain, form the top order.

Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha are the lower middle order, with R Ashwin as the probable all-rounder. Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Ishant Sharma were named the fast bowlers with Kuldeep Yadav as the 12th man.

Shikhar Dhawan will open with KL Rahul who Chopra named T20I captainFor the T20I XI, Chopra chose KL Rahul as captain with Dhawan, Pandey, and Iyer forming the top order. Rishabh Pant was chosen as the wicketkeeper, while Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja were named as the all-rounders, along with Chahal as the leg-spinner.

Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Jasprit Bumrah were the pace attack with Shardul Thakur for the backup.

Aakash Chopra’s India Test XI
Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav (12th man)

Aakash Chopra’s India T20I XI
KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur (12th man)


By Jatin Sharma - 07 Jun, 2020

    Share Via