ICC Awards 2019: Rohit Sharma named ODI Cricketer of the Year, Virat Kohli bags Spirit of Cricket award

The International Cricket Council announced the awards for the year 2019 on January 15.

Ben Stokes was named the Cricketer of the Year | Getty

Indian cricketers Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli made their presence felt in the ICC Awards for the year 2019 which were disclosed on Wednesday (January 15).

While Rohit bagged the ODI Cricketer of the Year award, Kohli walked away with the Spirit of Cricket award for his heartwarming gesture in a World Cup 2019 match.

Rohit had a remarkable 2019 as he finished the year with most ODI runs. In 28 ODIs last year, the Indian white-ball vice-captain amassed 1490 runs at an average of 57.30 with 7 centuries. He also became the first batsman to hit 5 hundreds in a single edition of the World Cup and finished the tournament as the highest run-scorer (648 runs from 9 innings).

During India’s World Cup encounter versus Australia at the Oval, Kohli won hearts by asking the Indian fans to stop booing Steve Smith, who had made a return to international cricket after serving the ball-tampering suspension.

England all-rounder Ben Stokes was named the Cricketer of the Year for his exploits during England’s maiden 50-over World Cup triumph and stellar performances in Test cricket.

Australia speedster Pat Cummins won the 2019 Test Cricketer of the Year award for his 59 Test wickets.

Here's the full list of ICC Awards 2019 winners:

Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Ben Stokes (England)

Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins (Australia)

Men’s ODI Player of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India)

Men’s Emerging Player of the Year: Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

Associate Player of the Year: Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)

Umpire of the Year: Richard Illingworth

Spirit of Cricket Award: Virat Kohli stopping the fans booing Steve Smith at the Oval

Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Ellyse Perry (Australia)

Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Ellyse Perry (Australia)

Women’s T20I Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy (Australia)

Women’s Emerging Player of the Year: Chanida Sutthiruang (Thailand)

Men’s Test Team of the Year: Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (captain), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon

Men’s ODI Team of the Year: Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav

Women’s ODI Team of the Year: Alyssa Healy (Australia, wk), Smriti Mandhana (India), Tamsin Beaumont (England), Meg Lanning (Australia, captain), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Jess Jonassen (Australia), Shikha Pandey (India), Jhulan Goswami (India), Megan Schutt (Australia), Poonam Yadav (India)

Women’s T20I Team of the Year: Alyssa Healy (Australia, wk), Danielle Wyatt (England), Meg Lanning (Australia, captain), Smriti Mandhana (India), Lizelle Lee (South Africa), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Deepti Sharma (India), Nida Dar (Pakistan), Megan Schutt (Australia), Shabnim Ismail (South Africa), Radha Yadav (India)



By Salman Anjum - 15 Jan, 2020

    Share Via