Afghanistan announces Test and T20I squads for the tour of Bangladesh

Leg-spinner Rashid Khan will be leading both the red and white-ball teams.

Afghanistan has rapidly progressed in international cricket | Getty

Afghanistan has made a lot of changes to its Test squad for the one-off encounter in Bangladesh this September, dropping as many as six players, including the now-suspended Mohammad Shahzad, who were picked for the match against Ireland earlier this year. 

Those players have been replaced by comeback pacer Shapoor Zadran, once an integral part of the limited-overs set-up, left-arm spinner Zahir Khan, seamer Sayed Shirzad, wicketkeeper-batsman Afsar Zazai and uncapped Ibrahim Zadran and Qais Ahmad.

Young wicketkeeper-batsman Ikram Ali Khil retains his Test spot after having done well domestically and in the World Cup in UK recently. 

However, he couldn't find a place in the 17-man roster picked for the T20I tri-series, also including Zimbabwe, for which the selectors have also left out Usman Ghani, Zahir Khan, Ziaur Rahman and veteran Samiullah Shinwari from the team that played the most recent T20I assignment versus Ireland in February. 

Instead, Gulbadin Naib, Naveen-ul-Haq, and the uncapped trio of Shahidullah Kamal, Fazal Niazai and Rahmanullah Gurbaz have been picked. 

Leg-spinner Rashid Khan will be at the helm of affairs as captain of both Test and T20I teams. 

The Test match will be held in Chattogram from September 5, while the T20I tri-series kickstarts in Dhaka on September 13. 


For one-off Test vs Bangladesh - Rashid Khan (C), Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ihsanullah, Ikram Ali Khil, Javed Ahmadi, Mohammad Nabi, Rahmat Shah, Yamin Ahmedzai, Shapoor Zadran, Ibrahim Zadran, Zahir Khan Pakteen, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Afsar Zazai, Qais Ahmed

For the T20I tri-series - Rashid Khan (C), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Zazai, Najeeb Tarakai, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najib Zadran, Shahidullah Kamal, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Fareed Ahmad, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Fazal Niazai, Dawlat Zadran, Naveen-ul-Haq, Rahmanullah Gurbaz

(Inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Kashish Chadha - 20 Aug, 2019

    Share Via