Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill and Kamlesh Nagarkoti amongst 5 Indians in ICC’s team of the U19 World Cup

India won the U19 World Cup title for the 4th time.

Shubman Gill found a place in the ICC U19 World Cup | Getty

The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently declared the team of the U19 World Cup, after the conclusion of the 2018 event in New Zealand, which was won by the India U19 team.

India defeated Australia in the finals for a record haul of fourth title, thanks to an unbeaten century by Manjot Kalra in the chase and the Indian bowling which restricted Australia to just 216 runs.

The ICC team of the U19 World Cup has five players from the champions India and is led by South Africa’s Raynard van Tonder. Three batsmen from the victorious team India- Prithvi Shaw (261 runs in the tournament), player of the final Manjot Kalra (252 runs) and player of the tournament Shubman Gill (372 runs), have been chosen in the team.  

Anukul Roy | Getty

Anukul Roy, the highest wicket taker in the tournament and fast bowler Nagarkoti were the other two Indian players in the ICC team of the tournament.

All the five players had a starring role in India’s World Cup winning campaign. While Roy was the main wicket taker for Team India and Nagarkoti intimidated the opposition batsmen with his speed; Gill scored the most runs for the Indian team and Shaw and Kalra provided the solid opening starts that kept India on the winning path.

The ICC team of the tournament was selected by a five member panel of former Windies fast bowler Ian Bishop, former India women’s captain Anjum Chopra, former New Zealand captain Jeff Crowe, journalist Shashank Kishore and former Australia all-rounder Tom Moody.

Here is the ICC team of the U19 World Cup 2018:

Prithvi Shaw (India), Manjot Kalra (India), Shubman Gill (India), Finn Allen (New Zealand), Raynard van Tonder (C,South Africa), Wandile Makwetu (WK-South Africa), Anukul Roy (India), Kamlesh Nagarkoti (India), Gerald Coetzee (South Africa), Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan), Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan), 12th man: Alick Athanaze (Windies)

By Jatin Sharma - 04 Feb, 2018

    Share Via