IPL 2022: “It's an amazing feeling” - Yashasvi Jaiswal after his match-winning 68 against PBKS

Yashasvi Jaiswal won the Player of the Match award against Punjab Kings on Saturday.

Yashasvi Jaiswal of Rajasthan Royals | BCCI-IPL

Yashasvi Jaiswal of the Rajasthan Royals (RR) was over the moon after winning the Player-of-the-Match award against the Punjab Kings (PBKS) at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday, May 7. After replacing Karun Nair in the playing XI, the southpaw returned at the top of the order and put his best foot forward.

The left-hander smashed 68 runs in 41 balls, including nine fours and two sixes, to help the Royals chase down 190 and win by six wickets. He batted until the 15th over, putting the Jaipur-based franchise in a commanding position.

“To be honest, I didn't know I'd be the Man of the Match. It's an amazing feeling whenever I go and bat, with all my pride I go and bat,” Jaiswal was quoted as saying to Star Sports in the post-match presentation.

Jaiswal's favourite shot in the game was his six off Rahul Chahar in the ninth over. The leg-spinner bowled outside the leg-stump, and Jaiswal used an inside-out stroke to smash him over the covers for a six.

“I think the one I hit Rahul Chahar over the covers. I just tried to keep it simple - good cricketing shots,” he stated.

Jaiswal also dedicated his knock to Rajasthan Royals Head of Cricket, Zubin Bharucha. Bharucha was praised by the Young Turk for guiding and inspiring him to improve.

“I want to dedicate this innings to Zubin sir. He has helped me a lot during all the times, whenever I was sitting with him, when I was down. He has been pushing me always. It's been a pleasure to perform like this. He has motivated me a lot, pushing me everyday like 'you can do it, you'll do it, just keep working hard.' I'll just keep doing what I'm doing, I'll try my best,” he added.

With 14 points and a net run rate of +0.326, the Royals are currently in third place in the table. Mumbai Indians (MI) became the first side to be eliminated from the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 as a result of RR's victory.


By Koyena Ghosh - 07 May, 2022

    Share Via