IPL 2022: Twitterverse slam third umpire for controversial decision against SRH skipper Kane Williamson

Many fans believed that the catch was not clean that got Williamson out.

The catch sparked a controversy | IPL/BCCIThe fifth match of the IPL 2022 between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) grabbed the headlines for a controversial decision, involving Kane Williamson.

During the second over of the match, Prasidh Krishna produced a stunning delivery that deceived Williamson as he edged the ball behind stumps where Sanju Samson tried to take the catch but only managed to get a glove on it. The ball bounced after hitting Samson’s gloves and Devdutt Padikkal grabbed it diving forward at first slip.

The on-field umpire wasn’t sure whether the catch was clean or not and, thus, he referred the decision to the TV umpire. After watching the replay, third umpire Padmanabhan quickly gave Williamson out.

However, many fans on Twitter believed that the catch was not clean. They were of the opinion that the ball hit the ground first and then Padikkal plucked it.

Here are the reactions:

Coming to the match, SRH suffered a humiliating 61-run defeat at the hands of RR in their IPL 2022 opener at the MCA Stadium in Pune on Tuesday (March 29).

Asked to bat first, the Royals piled up a massive 210/6 in their 20 overs on the back of skipper Sanju Samson’s 27-ball 55 and notable contributions from Devdutt Padikkal (41 off 29 balls), Jos Buttler (35 off 28 balls), and Shimron Hetmyer (32 off 13 balls).

In reply, the Sunrisers could only manage 149/7 in 20 overs. It was a listless batting performance from the Kane Williamson-led side as the top four got out for a single-digit mark. Aiden Markram was the top scorer with 41-ball 57*.


By Salman Anjum - 30 Mar, 2022

    Share Via