Only two Indians feature in JP Duminy’s all-time IPL XI

The South African did not follow IPL’s four foreigners and seven Indians rule while picking his team.

Duminy named Virat Kohli as captain of his all-time IPL XI | IANSFormer South Africa batsman JP Duminy recently announced his all-time IPL XI. Duminy’s choices were based on the clinical performances displayed by cricketers in the T20 league over the years.

See Also: Shane Warne names his all-time IPL XI with a surprise notable omission

As per the rules, an IPL playing XI needs to have a minimum of seven Indian players in it. But Duminy went with the composition of nine overseas and two Indian cricketers.

Naming his best IPL team on The Super Over Podcast, Duminy picked Caribbean swashbuckler Chris Gayle to open the innings alongside the legendary Adam Gilchrist, who led Deccan Chargers to the title win in 2009.

For the No. 3 slot, Duminy chose IPL’s most successful captain Rohit Sharma followed by RCB’s dynamic duo Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers.

Even though Kohli’s record as RCB skipper is far from impressive, the South African named the former as the captain of his all-time IPL XI.

West Indies’ Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell were the two designated all-rounders in the line-up.

For the bowling attack, Duminy picked Muttiah Muralitharan and Imran Tahir as premier spinners while the Brett Lee and Lasith Malinga were part of the pace department.

JP Duminy’s all-time IPL XI:

Chris Gayle, Adam Gilchrist, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (C), AB de Villiers, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Brett Lee, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Imran Tahir


By Salman Anjum - 30 May, 2020

    Share Via