IND v WI 2018: Prithvi Shaw joins elite list with the ‘Man of the Series’ award on debut Test series

Shaw aggregated 237 runs at an average of 118.50 across three innings against the West Indies.

Shaw began his Test career with a fine century | AFP

Prithvi Shaw lived a dream debut Test series against the West Indies as he aggregated 237 runs at an average of 118.50 across three innings and earned ‘Man of the Series’ award.

Living up to the hype of India’s next batting superstar, Prithvi smashed a century on his debut match in international cricket. Shaw, at 18 years and 329 days, notched the three-figure mark off 99 balls on Day 1 of the first Test at Rajkot.

His 134 led the foundation for India’s mammoth first innings total – 649/9 (declared). Subsequently, Indian bowlers ripped through the Windies batting line-up in both the innings and secured a thumping innings and 272-run victory.

After putting the Man of the Match performance at Rajkot, Shaw came up with another dominating knock of 70 in the first innings of Hyderabad Test. He ended up with 33* in the second essay to secure a resounding 10-wicket victory for India.

With this stellar debut series, Shaw also joined an elite and select group of players who have won the Man of the Series award in their maiden series.

Here’s the list of players who have achieved this feat:

Sourav Ganguly vs England (1996)

Jacques Rudolph vs Bangladesh (2003)

Stuart Clark vs South Africa (2006)

Ajantha Mendis vs India (2008)

Ravichandran Ashwin vs West Indies (2011)

Vernon Philander vs Australia (2011)

James Pattinson vs New Zealand (2011)

Rohit Sharma vs West Indies (2013)

Mehedi Hasan vs England (2016)

Prithvi Shaw v West Indies (2018)

Interestingly, India’s debutants have gone on to win the Player of the Series award in their last three home series against the West Indies. Previously, Ravichandran Ashwin and Rohit Sharma have achieved the same in 2011 and 2013 respectively.




By Salman Anjum - 15 Oct, 2018

    Share Via