IND v BAN 2019: WATCH - Rishabh Pant messes up simple stumping of Liton Das

Pant's woes behind the stumps continued at Rajkot.

India and Bangladesh are currently taking on each other in the 2nd T20I at Rajkot. For much of the last few days, rain was said to be a serious threat to the match as 'Maha Cyclone' was expected to bring a lot of rain to Gujarat. But luckily, the rain stayed away and the match started on time.

It's a special match for India's stand-in captain, Rohit Sharma as he is playing his 100th T20I making him the first Indian male cricketer to achieve the milestone. He is only the second man after Shoaib Malik to play 100 or more T20I matches. Rohit won the toss and as expected opted to bowl first with chasing being India's strength and some dew expected later. Both teams went in unchanged from the last match.

Bangladesh were off to a great start and reached 41/0 after five overs. On the third ball of the sixth over bowled by Yuzvendra Chahal, Liton Das rushed down the pitch and slogged wildly to miss the ball and be stumped way short of his crease. But to everyone's surprise, the umpires decided to refer the decision to the third umpire.

Reason was doubt about the position of Pant's gloves and whether he had some portion of his gloves in front of the stumps when he caught the ball. After several replays, the third umpire adjudged that Pant indeed made the mistake and Liton Das not only survived, but also got a free-hit on the next ball which he hit for a boundary.

This is the MCC law:

MCC LAW: 27.3.1 The wicket-keeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler touches the bat or person of the striker or passes the wicket at the striker’s end or striker attempts a run.

While Pant redeemed himself a while later by running out Liton Das with a direct-hit, his wicket-keeping was up for scrutiny once again. Here is a video of the delivery:



By Saurabh Malhotra - 07 Nov, 2019

    Share Via