Ranji Trophy likely to be conducted in two halves in 2024-25 season: Report

A draft proposal for the restructuring of domestic cricket has been sent to the Board's apex council.

Mumbai won the Ranji Trophy 2024 | BCCI DomesticThe BCCI is likely to divide the prestigious Ranji Trophy into two halves with white-ball tournaments Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy being conducted in between for the 2024-25 season.

According to a PTI report, a draft proposal for the restructuring of domestic cricket calendar for the 2024-25 season has been sent to the Board's apex council.

The proposal has been made after discussion with BCCI secretary Jay Shah, India captain Rohit Sharma, chairman of selectors Ajit Agarkar, head coach Rahul Dravid and National Cricket Academy head VVS Laxman.

Another proposal is to get rid of the toss for the CK Nayudu Trophy matches, which will also be played with a new points system.

As per the new proposed format, five Ranji Trophy league matches will be followed by white ball tournaments -- Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy. The remaining two Ranji league matches as well as the knockout stage fixtures will then be held after the culmination of the two white-ball competitions.

This restructuring has been done keeping in mind the inclement weather in the northern part of the country during winter months. Moreover, it will ensure adequate gaps between matches.

The BCCI has also taken into consideration the fact that last season's Ranji Trophy was organised with games having only three-day gaps in between including travelling, which did not give players enough time to rest and recover.

"There will be an increased gap between matches to allow players sufficient time for recovery and to maintain peak performance throughout the season," BCCI secretary Jay Shah told the media on Saturday (May 11).

As per the proposal, the domestic season will get underway with the Duleep Trophy, which will feature four teams to be picked by the national selectors. The Irani Cup will follow the Duleep Trophy after which the Ranji Trophy will be played in two halves.

In the CK Nayudu Trophy, the visiting team will have the right to decide whether to bat or bowl first.

"The CK Nayudu Trophy will implement a new points system aimed at promoting balanced performances. This includes awarding points for batting and bowling performances in the first innings, in addition to points for the first innings lead or outright win," said Shah.

The Board will also be evaluating the effectiveness of the new point system employed for CK Nayudu Trophy at the end of the season and a decision would be taken if the same has to be implemented for the Ranji Trophy as well for the following season.

In women's cricket, all inter-zonal tournaments, including one-day, T20 and multi-day format competitions, will have the teams selected by the national selectors.

(With PTI Inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 12 May, 2024

    Share Via