Arjun Tendulkar named in South Zone squad for upcoming Deodhar Trophy

Arjun played for Mumbai Indians in the 2023 edition of IPL.

Arjun Tendulkar | BCCI-IPLCricket icon Sachin Tendulkar’s son Arjun Tendulkar has been included in the South Zone squad led by Mayank Agarwal that will feature in the upcoming Deodhar Trophy inter-zonal 50-over tournament, slated to be held in Puducherry from July 24.

The top performers from each of the South Zone states have been named in the squad, with a few like Sai Sudharsan being kept as standby as they will be featuring in the Emerging Asia Cup in Colombo from July 13-23.

Arjun, a left-arm medium pacer and a swashbuckling lower-order batter, played four matches in the IPL 2023 season for Mumbai Indians, claiming three wickets at an economy of 9.35 and a strike rate of 19.66. He has been summoned by the BCCI for an emerging all-rounders’ camp at the NCA in Bangalore in August.

Arjun is a part of the South Zone pace department which include Karnataka’s new ball duo of Vidwath Kaverappa and Vyshak Vijaykumar along with V Koushik.

Arjun was Goa team’s joint highest wicket-taker with eight scalps from seven matches. Normally in Deodhar Trophy, the top performer from each state gets a look-in and Arjun being a left-arm seamer brings variety to the attack.

South Zone Squad: Mayank Agarwal (Captain), Rohan Kunnummal (vice-captain), N Jagadeesan (wicketkeeper), Rohit Rayadu, KB Arun Karthik, Devdutt Padikkal, Ricky Bhui (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, V Kaverappa, V Vyshak, Kaushik V, Mohit Redkar, Sijomon Joseph, Arjun Tendulkar, Sai Kishore.

(With PTI Inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 12 Jul, 2023

    Share Via