BCCI announces schedule for 2023-24 domestic season; a total of 1846 matches to be played

Ranji Trophy will begin from January 5, 2024.

The Ranji Trophy will begin from January 5 2024 | TwitterThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the schedule for the 2023-24 domestic season on Tuesday morning which will see a total of 1846 games being played. The season begins in June 2023 and will end in March 2024.

The 2023-24 domestic season starts with the Duleep Trophy. The coveted tournament will be played from June 28, 2023, to July 16, 2023. It will be followed by the Prof. Deodhar Trophy – to be played from July 24, 2023, to August 03, 2023.

Both these tournaments will be played across six zones – Central, South, North, East, West, and North-East. The Irani Cup which will see Saurashtra taking on the Rest of India side will commence on October 01, 2023.

These tournaments will be followed by Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy. The 20-over format tournament will begin on October 16, 2023, and run until November 06, 2023, while the 50-over tournament will be played from November 23, 2023, to December 15, 2023.

Both of these tournaments will witness 38 teams, divided into two groups of seven teams and three groups of eight teams.

BCCI job to now include allowances of $1000 per day on foreign trips, business class travel- Report

The Ranji Trophy will then kick off on January 05, 2024, and goes on till March 14, 2024.  The 28 participating teams will be divided into five groups, where four Elite Groups will have 8 teams each, and the Plate Group will comprise 6 teams.

The teams in the Elite Group will play 7 league-stage matches each and two teams from each group will make it to the Quarterfinals. The six teams in Plate Group will play five league-stage matches each, with the top four making it to the semi-finals.

On the other hand, the women’s domestic cricket season will begin with the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy, which will be played from October 19, 2023, to November 09, 2023.

The Senior Women’s Inter Zonal Trophy will be played from November 24, 2023, to December 04, 2023. 2024 will begin with the Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy, which will begin on January 04, 2024, and the final of the same will be played on January 26, 2024.

(BCCI inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 11 Apr, 2023

    Share Via