Ranji Trophy 2022: Prithvi Shaw named Mumbai’s captain ahead of Ranji knockouts

Mumbai are due to take on Uttarakhand in the quarterfinals.

Prithvi Shaw | TwitterOpening batter Prithvi Shaw will captain the Mumbai side in the knockout stage of the Ranji Trophy 2022, starting June 6 in Bengaluru.

Mumbai are due to take on Uttarakhand in the quarterfinals and the Salil Ankola-led selection committee on Monday (May 23) named the 21-member squad.

Shaw’s IPL teammate Sarfaraz Khan is also part of the Mumbai squad. Other young batters like Armann Jaffer and Yashasvi Jaiswal have also been included in the squad alongside veteran wicket-keeper Aditya Tare.

Dhawal Kulkarni will lead the bowling attack which also features all-rounder Shams Mulani and pacer Tushar Deshpande.

Shreyas Iyer isn’t part of the Mumbai squad as he will be on national duty for the T20I series against South Africa, beginning June 9.

Mumbai Squad:

Prithvi Shaw (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Bhupen Lalwani, Arman Jaffer, Sarfaraz Khan, Suved Parkar, Aakarshit Gomel, Aditya Tare, Hardik Tamore, Aman Khan, Sairaj Patil, Shams Mulani, Dhrumil Matkar, Tanush Kotian, Shashank Attarde, Dhaval Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Awasthi, Roystan Dias, Siddharth Raut and Musheer Khan

(With PTI inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 24 May, 2022

    Share Via