BCCI releases fresh itinerary for 2021-22 domestic season; Ranji Trophy to start from January 5

The domestic season will kick-off on September 20, 2021 with men's and women's U-19 one dayers.

Ranji Trophy had to be cancelled last season due to COVID-19 pandemic | TwitterThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has released a revamped itinerary for the 2021-22 domestic season, as per which, the Ranji Trophy will be played from January 5 to March 20.

The prestigious First-Class tournament couldn’t take place last season due to the COVID-19 outbreak and the logistical obstacles faced for having an extended bio-bubble for 38 teams.

While the Ranji Trophy is back in BCCI's domestic calendar, the senior men's cricket will commence from October 27 with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy.

See Also: BCCI hopeful of return of crowds for remaining IPL games in UAE

The Vijay Hazare Trophy, India’s premier List A tournament, will be played from December 1 to December 29. On the other hand, senior women will play their first tournament – One Day League – from October 20 to November 20.

The domestic season begins with women's and men's U-19 one dayers (Vinoo Mankad Trophy) from September 20 and it would be followed by U-19 challenger trophy for both women and men, starting October 25 and 26th respectively.

The U-25 (State A) One dayers will be played from November 9 to December 10 whereas the CK Nayudu Trophy (also U-25 from previous year's U-23) will start from January 6.

As far as the groupings are concerned – 38 teams will be divided into six groups for the senior men's tournaments (Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy). There will be five Elite groups, with each comprising six teams in all three tournaments. Moreover, there will be one Plate group of eight teams.

For U-25 level, there will be five Elite Groups with six teams each and one Plate group with seven teams.

Schedule for India’s domestic season 2021-22:

Women’s under-19 (One-Day): September 20 to October 18

Vinoo Mankad Trophy (Men’s U-19 One-Day): September 20 to October 18

Men’s Challenger Trophy (U-19): October 26 to November 9

Women Challenger Trophy (U-19): October 25 to November 6

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy: October 27 to November 22

Senior Women’s One Day: October 20 to November 20

Men State A One Day: November 9 to December 10

Vijay Hazare Trophy (Men One-Day): December 1 to December 29

Senior Women’s Challenger Trophy: November 26 to December 8

Ranji Trophy: January 5 to March 20

Cooch Behar Trophy (Men U-19): November 21 to February 2

Col CK Nayudu Trophy (Men 4-day, U-25): January 6 to April 2

Senior Women’s T20: February 20 to March 23

Vijay Merchant Trophy (Men U-16): November-December

(With PTI inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 20 Aug, 2021

    Share Via