PSL 2020: Faf du Plessis among 21 international stars to feature in PSL playoffs

The PSL 2020 playoffs had to be postponed on March 17 due to COVID-19 pandemic.

Faf du Plessis will make his PSL debut | GettyPakistan Super League (PSL) on Monday (November 2) announced the full squads for the four participating teams in the PSL 2020 playoffs, which was postponed on March 17 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The four games will be held in Lahore on 14, 15 and 17 November with only the Qualifier and Eliminator 1 to be a double-header. Eliminator 2 will be played on the following day, while the event will conclude on 17 November.

Veteran South African batsman Faf du Plessis will make his PSL debut as he replaces West Indies skipper Kieron Pollard in the Peshwar Zalmi squad.

Pollard, who is currently plying his trade for the Mumbai Indians at IPL 2020, will be heading to New Zealand for their white-ball series after the IPL.

"I am very excited to join Peshawar Zalmi for the playoff stage games of HBL PSL 2020. I have fond memories of playing in Pakistan when I toured with the ICC World XI in 2017 and I am sure this experience, although different due to Covid-19, will be a memorable one as well," Du Plessis said, as quoted by PSL.

As many as 21 overseas cricketers will be in Pakistan for the playoffs as Multan Sultans face Karachi Kings in Qualifier 1 while Lahore Qalandars take on Peshwar Zalmi in the Eliminator 1 on November 14.

Besides Du Plessis, big names such as Imran Tahir, Alex Hales, James Vince, Tamim Iqbal and Mahmadullah will be part of PSL 2020 play-offs.

"21 foreign stars include one each from Australia and New Zealand, two from Bangladesh, six from England, seven from South Africa, and four from the West Indies," PSL said in a statement.

PSL 2020 Play-offs: Full Squads

Karachi Kings (5 foreign players) - Aamir Yamin, Alex Hales (England), Arshad Iqbal, Awais Zia, Babar Azam, Cameron Delport(South Africa), Chadwick Walton (West Indies), Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mitchel McClenaghan (New Zealand), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Sharjeel Khan, Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies), Umaid Asif, Umer Khan, Usama Mir and Waqas Maqsood.

Lahore Qalandars (5 foreign players) - Abid Ali, Agha Salman, Ben Dunk (Australia), Dane Vilas (South Africa), David Wiese (South Africa), Dilbar Hussain, Fakhar Zaman, Farzan Raja, Haris Rauf, Jaahid Ali, Maaz Khan, Mohammad Faizan, Mohammad Hafeez, Samit Patel (England), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Akhtar, Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) and Usman Shinwari

Multan Sultans (6 foreign players) - Adam Lyth (England), Ali Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti, Imran Tahir (South Africa), James Vince (England), Junaid Khan, Khushdil Shah, Mahmudullah (Bangladesh), Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Irfan, Ravi Bopara (England), Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Rohail Nazir, Shaan Masood, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir and Zeeshan Ashraf

Peshawar Zalmi (5 foreign players) - Aamir Ali, Adil Amin, Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies), Daren Sammy (West Indies), Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Haider Ali Khan, Hardus Viljoen (South Africa), Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Khurram Shehzad, Liam Livingstone (England), Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Wahab Riaz and Yasir Shah

PSL 2020 Playoffs Schedule:

Saturday, 14 Nov – Qualifier (Multan Sultans v Karachi Kings), Gaddafi Stadium; Eliminator 1 (Lahore Qalandars v Peshawar Zalmi); Gaddafi Stadium

Sunday, 15 Nov – Eliminator 2 ((loser Qualifier v winner Eliminator 1); Gaddafi Stadium

Tuesday, 17 Nov – Final; Gaddafi Stadium


By Salman Anjum - 03 Nov, 2020

    Share Via