AUS v IND 2018-19: India announces its 12-man squad for the first Test at Adelaide

The first Test begins at the Adelaide Oval from December 6.

Hanuma Vihari and Rohit Sharma will compete for the no.6 spot for the Adelaide Test | GettyAustralia and India will engage in the first match of the four-Test Border-Gavaskar Trophy in Adelaide from December 6, Thursday.

India has never won a Test series in Australia, managing to draw the series three times. Meanwhile, Australia has routed India 0-4 and 0-2 in the last two series down under. This time, however, it has been touted as India’s best chance to win a series with Australia missing two of their batting stars.

India, on the other hand, is missing their talented, young opener Prithvi Shaw, who injured himself in the practice match at the SCG. With just a day to go for the first Test to begin, the BCCI and team management have announced the 12-man playing squad for the same.

M Vijay and KL Rahul have been chosen as the openers and Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane will form the middle order of the Indian team. Rishabh Pant will take up the gloves and there will be a tossup between Hanuma Vihari and Rohit Sharma for the no.6 spot in the playing XI.

R Ashwin has been included as the only spinner, with Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah being the three fast bowlers.

India’s 12-man squad for the first Test:

Virat Kohli (C), A Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, M Vijay, C Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, R Pant (WK), R Ashwin, M Shami, I Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah


By Jatin Sharma - 05 Dec, 2018

    Share Via