WPL 2024: BCCI forms special committee to boost Women's Premier League (WPL)

Women's Premier League (WPL 2024) player auction will be held in Mumbai on Saturday.

All captains with WPL Trophy | WPL

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday, December 7, shared exciting news about the Women's Premier League (WPL), as they introduced an eight-member committee for the betterment and growth of the league.

The BCCI tasked the newly-appointed committee with making sure the WPL keeps growing and stays successful after the women’s T20 league had a fantastic debut season in 2023.

Ahead of the player auction for WPL 2023 taking place on November 9 in Mumbai, the BCCI introduced the eight-member committee to support women's cricket even more in India.

The committee is chaired by BCCI president and former cricketer Roger Binny and includes important members like Convener Jay Shah and IPL chairperson Arun Dhumal. Together, they aim to make the WPL a thriving platform for women's cricket in the country.

Read Also: INDW v ENGW 2023: Harmanpreet Kaur blames time away from field for loss in 1st T20I against England

The BCCI said in an official statement:The committee hails from diverse backgrounds and the BCCI believes their collective expertise and passion for fostering women's cricket make them an invaluable asset to the Women's Premier League.”

The board added, “The committee members are enthusiastic about the opportunity to contribute to the growth and success of the Women's Premier League. They look forward to collaborating with stakeholders, players, and fans to create a vibrant and competitive environment that showcases the immense talent within women's cricket.”

Here are Women's Premier League Committee Members:

Mr Roger Binny – Chairperson

Mr Jay Shah – Convenor

Mr Arun Dhumal – IPL Chairperson

Mr Rajeev Shukla – BCCI vice-president

Mr Ashish Shelar – BCCI Honorary Treasurer

Mr Devajit Saikia – BCCI Honorary Jt. Secretary

Mrs Madhumati Lele – Member

Mr Prabhtej Bhatia – Member

(With PTI/BCCI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 08 Dec, 2023

    Share Via